2nd March

what I want to do for FMP

from last week, I have worked out what I wanted to do for my FMP. This week, I have decided to do the theme “The Other”. I have done more research on the themes I have chosen, also “Boundaries” and “Man vs Nature”. From these two, I don’t feel comfortable in them due to the research I have done on them. I feel that with “Man vs Nature”, there isn’t much variation on how I can interpret it. For example, I could interpret it as literally man vs nature, where man battles nature while trying to survive. Or how nature takes over man made structures because they were abandoned. With “Boundaries”, it could be either literal, or metaphorical. With “the other”, I feel that I take different things and use them for this theme.

shooting in the studio

In the studio, I had worked on a shoot for What’s the Story. DSCF1928.JPGFor this, I wanted to test shoot a gif. I had used a small model figure and posed it differently for each shot, but making sure that the poses continue from the last. I wanted to test how well
I can make a gif that is stop motion with a figure as I want to use one for my final image. I have yet to put them into a gif at this time, but I have gone over the images on my camera and have gathered that the motion may be a little jerky. this is because of the model figure I had used was a little stiff around the joints, so I couldn’t place them in a position I wanted because of that. I wanted to make the figure look like it is walking, but due to the stiffness in the joints, this might not portray that and instead look like it is dancing strangely.

I had also shot tests for my FMP. For this, I first
DSCF1980.JPGtook shots of Kim by herself with a black background to portray
the loneness that is caused by taking others out of a group by force. but this didn’t show it with just one person in the image. I had also found that with a black background, the face in which is illuminated by the light, becomes overexposed and creating a ghostly effect. I then moved the lights so that the
y were shining light above Kim, and asked her to put her hood up, so that her face wouldn’t be as overexposed. DSCF1992.JPGthis had worked better, but I felt that it still needed something else.
So I then decided to used other people to create the effect I wanted for the theme “the other”. With Kim still facing towards the camera, I had the other four behind her, facing away from the camera and towards the black background. With this, I feel that it makes more of an impact then the other two images, as it clearly show that the center peDSCF2004.JPGrson,
who is illuminated and is kneeling, is being forced out of a social group, while the group, represented by the four people behind is carrying on with life. they are slightly illuminated to show they are there, as earlier test shoots had shown that they did not show up in the image if both lights are focused on the kneeling person.

Darkroom

With my FMP test shot, I had turned it black and white and printed it off to see if I could create a negative image in the darkroom using the light sensitive paper. However, I realized I had done an error as I forgot to invert the colour of the image on lightroom. I didn’t realize this until I had already printed the image and already began to develop the image on the paper.  However, this didn’t turned out so bad only looking a little fuzzy. but one of the background people blend into the background, making them hard to see. As well as some the detail being lost  Next time when I do this, I will make sure to invert the image and to ajust the light exposure so that the image won’t be as fuzzy and making sure that most of the detail is captured.

Leave a Reply

